反函数。 概念的详尽的研究。

数学软件。 数学研究。 数学教育。 Tvalx产品。

 

 

测试反函数的这个条款我们做第一个途径对避免反函数的正式定义的事宜。 我们十分地学习反函数的概念。

从设置理论上的观点功能是一套被定购的对。 例如, y=2x是{(x, 2*x) | x ϵ R}。 采取所有一一对应函数f = {(x, y) | x ϵ D, y=f (x)},其中f表示这个功能作为一套被定购的对和通常计算y为特定x。 f域是D,并且这个范围是R。 考虑套被定购的对g = {(y, x) | x ϵ D, y=f (x)}。 因此,我们切换了x和y。 g是否是功能? 因为f是一对一的,是, g是功能。 为每特定y我们正确地有一对应的x。 信函x和y是符号使用的于卷曲的托架。 如果我们写g = {(a, b) | x ϵ D, a=f (b)},这个逻辑不更改。 因此我们可以写g = {(x, y) | y ϵ D, (y)}按照常规的x=f变元由x和值表示由y.表示。 因而我们可以公式化定义:

定义1。

让f = {(x, y) | x ϵ D, y=f (x)}是一个一一对应函数。 然后g = {(x, y) | y ϵ D, x=f (y)}称反函数为f。

 

f的一个反函数由f -1按照惯例表示。 因此g = f -1

给出严格的设置理论上的证明是可能的正确地有一个反函数为特定f。 我们接受它如明显。

注意,如果g是反函数为f然后f是反函数为g。 的确, f = {(x, y) | x ϵ D, y=f (x)} = {(x, y) | y ϵ R, x=g (y)}。 因而f和g的逻辑角色是对称的。 f和g没有任何特选在彼此。 因而我们可以说为所有一一对应函数正确地有一个对相互反函数。 的确,切换的x和y结果在切换在二个功能之间。 我们称它一个对相互反函数。

在标准函数之中我们有下列对相互反函数:  (e^x, ln (x)), (sinh (x), asinh (x))。 我们可以也修建更加琐细的对相互反函数: (2x, x/2), (x^3, x^ (1/3))。 在我们“解决”原始功能为例如y.的这样建筑期间, y = 1 + 2x为y解决: x = (y -1)/2。 因而我们获得一个对相互反函数(1 + 2x, (x - 1) /2)。 我们应该仔细使用这样“解决方法”,因为它为一一对应函数仅运作(一一对应函数在集合论上称bijections)。

我们曾经认为反正弦作为正弦的反函数。 不它? 在意义定义这个答复是第反正弦的1 bijection并且有一个反函数,那是正弦的限制到间隔[- π/2, π/2]。 因而正弦的反正弦和限制到间隔[- π/2, π/2]形成一个对反函数。 我们可能叫正弦和反正弦每常规对反函数。 常规对的另一个示例反函数是一个对x. x被摆正的和方根。 但是我们应该记得情况,是真实对对反函数,不一定是真实对常规对反函数。

 

© 2008年Tvalx

Tvalx徽标

Inverse functions. Thorough study of concept.

Mathematical Software. Mathematical Research. Mathematical Education. Tvalx Products.

 

 

In the article Exploring Inverse Functions we made first approach to the topic avoiding formal definition of inverse function. Let's study thoroughly the concept of inverse function.

From set-theoretical point of view a function is a set of ordered pairs. For example, y=2x is {(x, 2*x) | x ϵ R} . Take any one-to-one function f = {(x, y) | x ϵ D, y=f(x)}, where f denotes the function as a set of ordered pairs and as a rule of computing y for given x. The domain of f is D and the range is R. Consider set of ordered pairs g = {(y, x) | x ϵ D, y=f(x)}. So, we switched x and y. Is g a function? Since f is one-to-one, yes, g is a function. For each given y we have exactly one corresponding x. The letters x and y are just symbols used inside curled brackets. If we write  g = {(a, b) | x ϵ D, a=f(b)}, the logic does not change. So we can write g = {(x, y) | y ϵ D, x=f(y)} to follow convention that argument is denoted by x and value is denoted by y. Thus we can formulate a definition:

Definition 1.

Let  f = {(x, y) | x ϵ D, y=f(x)} be a one-to-one function. Then g = {(x, y) | y ϵ D, x=f(y)}is called inverse function for f.

 

By convention an inverse function of f is denoted by f -1 . So g = f -1 .

It's possible to give a strict set-theoretical proof that there is exactly one inverse function for given f. Let's accept it as obvious.

Note that if g is the inverse function for f then f is the inverse function for g. Indeed, f = {(x, y) | x ϵ D, y=f(x)} = {(x, y) | y ϵ R, x=g(y)} . Thus the logical roles of f and g are symmetrical. Neither f nor g have any preference over each other. Thus we can say that for any one-to-one function there is exactly one pair of mutually inverse functions. Indeed, switching x and y results in switching between two functions. Let's call it a pair of mutually inverse functions.

Among standard functions we have following pairs of mutually inverse functions:  (e^x, ln(x)), (sinh(x), asinh(x)) . We can also construct more trivial pairs of mutually inverse functions: (2x, x/2), (x^3, x^(1/3)) . During such construction we "solve" original function for y. For example, y = 1 + 2x is solved for y : x = (y -1) / 2 . Thus we get a pair of mutually inverse functions (1 + 2x, (x - 1) /2) . We should use such "solution" carefully, since it works only for one-to-one functions (one-to-one functions are called bijections in Set Theory).

We used to think of arcsine as inverse function of sine. Is it not? In sense of Definition 1 the answer is No. Arcsine is a bijection and has an inverse function, that is a restriction of sine to interval [-π/2, π/2] . Thus arcsine and restriction of sine to interval [-π/2, π/2]  form a pair of inverse functions. We could call sine and arcsine a conventional pair of inverse functions. Another example of conventional pair of inverse functions is a pair of x squared and square root of x. But we should remember that facts, which are true for pairs of inverse functions, are not necessarily true for conventional pairs of inverse functions.

 

© 2008 Tvalx

Tvalx Logo